Media Innovation Awards – 2016 jury announced

This year's winners will be known as The Media Master Class

Marketing is excited to announce our 2016 Media Innovation Awards jury, who will meet in late September to determine the bronze, silver and gold winners of this year’s awards program. (Remember, there’s still time to apply! Our call for entries wraps up this Friday, September 9.)

Our 2016 co-chairs, Eva Salem of Canadian Tire and Nicolas Marin of OMD Montreal, have selected the following individuals to serve on this year’s jury:

  • Jeff Berry, Touché!
  • Kevin Johnson, Mediacom
  • Lesley Tavel, Media Experts
  • Scott Stewart, Maxus Global
  • Melanie Johnston, DDB Canada
  • Agatha Wronecka, Taxi
  • Carl Pichette, McDonald’s Canada
  • Andrea Hunt, Weston Foods
  • Patrick Jutras, La Presse (as of September 12)
  • Jeff Marchand, Rogers Media
  • Jake Norman, Facebook

During the 2016 Marketing Awards, we calculated that between online judging, in-person evaluations, photoshoots and interviews,  our 25 jury members and four co-chairs devoted approximately 350 billable hours to our awards show. If they weren’t volunteers, we would have owed them something in the neighbourhood of $70,000 total for helping us give out our gold M trophies to deserving agencies and brands. These aren’t just any marketers, either – they’re often Cannes Lions-winning, agency-leading individuals who elevate our awards show by the very nature of their involvement.

The same can be said of our Media Innovation Awards jury, which consistently features media agency presidents, award-winning planners and strategists, and those leading the marketing efforts of major Canadian brands. Year after year our juries have consistently been filled with industry leaders and game-changers, which gave rise to our 2016 MIAs theme.

This year’s jury members and winners of the Media Innovation Awards will be known as The Media Master Class – the cream of the crop in media and marketing strategy in Canada. As we do every year, we’ll be looking to our jury members to select work they feel represents the best in Canadian media innovation in 2016. But, we’ll also be looking to draw even more insight from our jury members than we have in years past, creating content that will demonstrate their views on this year’s winning work, and asking for their opinions on the current state of the Canadian media industry.

Keep an eye out for our new visual theme, which we’ve hinted at below, for insights from the 2016 MIAs jury and co-chairs across our website, social feeds, print product, and of course during our awards gala on November 17. (Tickets go on sale after our call for entries wraps!)

If you haven’t already, make sure to get your 2016 Media Innovation Awards entries ready for our September 9 deadline – this is the final extension! We’re looking forward to seeing what amazing work you did this past year and celebrating it in November.

For any awards inquiries including applications, deadlines and galas, you can always email me at


Add a comment

You must be to comment.

Media Articles

30 Under 30 is back with a new name, new outlook

No more age limit! The New Establishment brings 30 Under 30 in a new direction, starting with media professionals.

As Prime Minister, Kellie Leitch would scrap CBC

Tory leadership hopefuls are outlining their views on national broadcaster's future

‘Your Morning’ embarks on first travel partnership

Sponsored giveaway supported by social posts directed at female-skewing audience

KitchenAid embraces social for breast cancer campaign

Annual charitable campaign taps influencers and the social web for the first time

Netflix debates contributions with Canadian Heritage

Netflix remains wary of regulation as some tout 'Anne' and 'Alias Grace' partnerships

Canadians warm up to social commerce

PayPal and Ipsos research shows "Shop Now" buttons are gaining traction

Online ad exchange AppNexus cuts off Breitbart

Popular online ad exchange bans site for violating hate speech policy

Robert Jenkyn is back at Media Experts

Former Microsoft and Globe and Mail exec returns to the agency world

2016 Media Innovation Awards: The complete winners list

All the winning agencies from media's biggest night out!